4 Cognitive Stages for Child Development

4 Cognitive Stages for Child Development
4 Cognitive Stages for Child Development

According to Swiss psychologist Jean Piaget, there are 4 cognitive stages for child development. Piaget's theory is based on his studies about the way a child's learning capacity develops from birth to adolescence. The four stages are sensorimotor, preoperational, concrete, and formal operations. Here is a brief description of each stage in the 4 cognitive stages for child development.

4 Cognitive Stages for Child Development: Age Ranges
In infancy, motion and sensory information is the whole of the child's thinking capacity. Babies do not engage in rational thought, neither do they have any conception of time. Infants cannot see things from another person's point of view and so are naturally egocentric. Toddlers, from ages 2 to 7, perceive the world through magical thinking and animism (attributing human emotions and characteristics to inanimate objects). They are acquiring motor skills during this stage, and a certain amount of "decentering" begins to occur. At this stage, the child is still unable to think logically. At age 7 to age 12, children begin to understand logical or rational thought, but only concretely — in relationship to things they can see or touch. They are also noticeably better at seeing another's point of view and considering others' feelings. From the age of 12 on, the person beings to develop abstract reasoning skills and can think logically and rationally, without having to depend on visual or tactile aids. Complex abstract thought is now possible, and cognitive development is complete.

Understanding the 4 cognitive stages for child development can help teachers and parents understand how their child thinks, and how to teach them or discipline them. Interaction with the child is much less frustrating and much more fulfilling if adults have realistic expectations about what the child can do and understand.

4 Cognitive Stages for Child Development: Cognitive Skills
Oftentimes, a child may not be progressing naturally through the 4 cognitive stages for child development. It is common for a child who has weak cognitive skills to manifest symptoms of developmental delay. However, this does not need to be a permanent situation. The solution is easier than most people think. Cognitive skills are responsible for a child's ability to process information, pay attention, memorize, and perform many other learning and school-related tasks. A child whose cognitive skills are weak will have trouble with school, and have a hard time socially, and seem to be falling behind developmentally. If you suspect that your child may be in this situation, don't let them fall any further behind — we encourage you to call a LearningRx brain training center today and get help. LearningRx brain training is the leader in one-on-one cognitive enhancement programs for children. If you would like to learn more about LearningRx brain training, please visit our website or click here to find a center near you.

Share Us: Share